Help – who stole my ‘off’ switch?

I can’t watch TV, films, or listen to the radio any more.

Ok – well it’s not so much I can’t do it, it’s just that when I do, I’m often listening to the vocal track and thinking:

“How does that sound?”
“I wonder where they recorded it?”
“How would I have done that?”
“Why does that ’emphasis’ work on that word?”
“Why did they choose that sound effect?”

I suppose it’s great that my mind is ensuring I am learning and reviewing things all the time – to develop my voiceover skills.

BUT – it wears me out, and makes it hard to engage with the piece sometimes, particularly if I spot something perhaps a little off or just plain weird.

Still it could be worse; at the moment I am keeping these thoughts to myself – I am worried about when I take the next step, and begin answering those questions out loud to my partner – MOVIE BORE ALERT!

So this week, I have a question for you – what is your technique for switching off?

How do you ensure that the whirring cogs of your brain don’t get in the way of a bit of R+R when it comes to film, tv and (toughest for me) radio?

Or am I alone in this – and losing my marbles a bit?

Answers on a postcard to:

Steve O’Neill’s Lost His Marbles
SWAP SHOP
TV CENTRE
LONDON
W1A 1AA

Or alternatively any helpful suggestions could be kindly put in the comments section at the top where it says ‘leave a reply’ 

(Any unhelpful suggestions will also be considered – for research purposes of course)

Have a GREAT day

Steve

7 thoughts on “Help – who stole my ‘off’ switch?

  1. gterzza

    I do both Steve by leaving the switch halfway. If there’s a programme I really like, I hardly notice the voice over (always a good sign, you shouldn’t be concentrating on the voice) but if it’s something I’m not taking much interest in then I ten to home in on the VO.

    Reply
    1. steveoneillvoice Post author

      Gary thank you for the reply, I appreciate you taking the time to do it. Funnily enough I tend to have less of a problem where it’s Film for example, but radio is really challenging given the single-natured medium of the audio.
      However, I was watching a film the other day, one I saw before I got into VO, I love the film, and a scene was shot in a big glass filled bright sounding car showroom – but the dialogue was clearly recorded in a dry booth. It meant that the reality of the scene was lost for me because my switch went into full ‘on’!

      I guess it’s one side effect of having been exposed to the wizard behind the curtain!

      Thanks again for the reply Gary, I misread it first and thought you’d written “…I leave halfway” and wondered how you would enjoy anything! Ha – the perils of reading stuff too early in the morning!

      Reply
      1. gterzza

        Yes I agree Steve – it really does stand out when the dubbed acoustics don’t match what’s on screen. There’s a mickey-take of that on the cult show Garth Merehghi’s Dark Place, well worth seeking out.

  2. Dale Latham

    Steve,
    I don’t know IF it CAN be turned off, at least in my case. I find that I tend to analyze spots to death. I thought I had a problem, but see there are others like me. Sometimes, I am just short of taking notes on the darned things. (Ok- cats out of the bag) You are not alone!

    For me, what I have done to prevent always nit-pickin’ and focusing (ON- neg-.) on ‘what’s bad about…”, I seek out really well done spots and demos to glean (ON- pos+.) ‘what’s really good about…’ and use those to build my (OFF- prod+.) mental picture. Now that being said, I have been guilty of laying awake (ON- again) at night, while planning my attack on a piece, because of the ‘possibilites-overload’ caused by learning more and more each day. But, that’s a good thing, IMO!

    Reply
    1. steveoneillvoice Post author

      Dale – that’s a really interesting perspective.

      Thank you for your reply – I’m glad there’s more of us, maybe we should start a support group! Ha!

      Steve

      Reply

Leave a Reply

